Three more parties set to join anti-Erdoğan opposition bloc

Three more parties are set to join Turkey’s opposition bloc against President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan ahead of upcoming elections, Cumhuriyet newspaper reported on Thursday.

Former Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu’s Future Party and former Deputy Prime Minister Ali Babacan’s Democracy and Progress Party (DEVA) are expected to join the opposition Nation Alliance alongside the Party for Change in Turkey (TDP), Cumhuriyet said.

Davutoğlu and Babacan both served in high-profile ministerial roles under Erdoğan, before recently leaving the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) to form their own movements. The TDP was founded in 2009 by Mustafa Sarıgül, a former mayor for the main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP). 

The parties have been working with the current members of the Nation Alliance on a "strengthened parliamentary system" and are now formally set to join the bloc, Cumhuriyet said.

A broad-based coalition, the Nation Alliance was formed by the secularist CHP, nationalist Good Party (İYİP), Islamist Felicity Party and right-wing Democrat Party to contest the 2018 general election, loosing out to the People’s Alliance made up by the AKP and its far-right ally, the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP).

The vote was the first to be held following Turkey’s move to a strengthened presidential system that granted Erdoğan sweeping new powers. However, opinion polls ahead of elections scheduled for 2023 show Erdoğan’s approval rating in decline, with the Nation Alliance’s shared focus on a return to a parliamentary system of government gaining traction.

Growing momentum has spurred cooperation amongst opposition parties, which held a third meeting at the beginning of this month to agree a shared set of principles by the year’s-end.

The Nation Alliance is expected to run under the campaign slogan: “The people are one, the nation is united”, Cumhuriyet said.



This block is broken or missing. You may be missing content or you might need to enable the original module.