Turkey issues navigational warning over six islands in Aegean

Turkey on Tuesday issued three naval alerts, known as a Navtex, covering large areas of the Aegean Sea amid an ongoing dispute with neighbouring Greece over territorial waters.

The Office Of Navigation, Hydrography and Oceanography’s İzmir station announced the Navtex, citing the Greek violation of the non-military status of the islands of Chios, Samos, Samothrace, Limnos, Ikaria and Patmos.

The militarization of islands close to the Turkish mainland violates the Treaty of Lausanne signed in 1923, the alert said.

The latest Navtex arrives amid a dispute between Turkey on the one side, and Cyprus and Greece on the other, on overlapping claims to hydrocarbon resources in the region. Both sides hold conflicting views of how far their continental shelves extend in waters.